Tes FE Awards Shortlist

Lifetime achievement 

Sponsored by

For this category we do not publish a shortlist, the winner will be announced on the night of the awards.

FE leader of the year 

Sponsored by 

  • Patricia Jones, Bedford College
  • Simon Pirotte, Bridgend College
  • Mark Jones, Gower College Swansea
  • Karen Dobson, Newcastle and Stafford Colleges Group
  • Mouhssin Ismail, Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre
  • Lesley Davies, Trafford College
  • Lindsey Whiterod, Tyne Coast College
  • Paul Phillips, Weston College 

Teacher of the year

Sponsored by 

  • Karen Walker, Abingdon and Witney College
  • Alice Eardley, Activate Learning
  • Samantha Jones, Bedford College
  • Tom Jones, Cardiff and Vale College
  • Russell Aldersson, City Lit
  • Richard Spencer, Middlesbrough College
  • Andrew Loveridge, Northampton College 
  • Claire Knapp, Weston College 

Apprenticeship programme of the year

Sponsored by 

  • AWE
  • Bridgend College
  • Bridgwater and Taunton College
  • EKC Group
  • Fareham College
  • Glasgow Kelvin College
  • Gloucestershire College
  • Royal Air Force 

Professional services team of the year 

Sponsored by

  • Belfast Metropolitan College
  • Bradford College
  • Bridgwater and Taunton College
  • City of Glasgow College
  • Exeter College
  • Fircroft College
  • Kirklees College
  • West London College 

Training provider of the year 

  • BB Training Academy
  • RMF Construction Training Academy
  • Skills Training UK
  • Training 2 Care UK
  • Umbrella Training
  • Weir Training
  • Yorkshire College of Beauty 

FE college of the year

Sponsored by 

  • Barnsley College
  • Bridgend College
  • Exeter College
  • Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education
  • Nelson and Colne College
  • North Hertfordshire College
  • Truro and Penwith College
  • Weston College

Sixth-form college of the year 

  • Ashton Sixth Form College
  • Cardinal Newman Sixth Form College
  • Durham Sixth Form Centre
  • Hills Road Sixth Form College
  • Huddersfield New College
  • Joseph Chamberlain Sixth Form College
  • Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre
  • St John Rigby College 

Specialist provider of the year

  • City College Peterborough
  • Coleg Elidyr
  • Derwen College 
  • Foxes Academy
  • National Star College
  • Queen Alexandra College
  • The Manchester College
  • Weston College Sensory Learning Base 

Adult and community learning provider of the year 

  • Fircroft College
  • Inspire Culture, Learning and Libraries (Nottinghamshire County Council)
  • Kent Adult Education
  • Redbridge Institute
  • Skills and Learning Bournemouth,  Dorset and Poole
  • Sutton College
  • WEA
  • Working Men’s College

Overall FE provider of the year 

Sponsored by

The winners of the specialist provider, adult and community learning provider, and training provider categories will go head to head with the winning FE and sixth-form colleges for the title of overall FE provider of the year and the winner will be awarded on the night of the ceremony.  

Beacon Awards finalists

Skills and Education Group Award for Social Mobility and Widening Participation 

  • Abingdon and Witney College
  • Birkenhead Sixth Form College
  • Bridgwater and Taunton College 

British Council International Award

  • Glasgow Kelvin College
  • Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education
  • National Star College 
  • Southern Regional College

The Careers and Enterprise Company Careers Education and Guidance Award

  • North West Regional College
  • Sunderland College

AoC Mental Health and Wellbeing Award 

  • Cardiff and Vale College
  • Middlesbrough College
  • Reaseheath College
  • Weston College

City & Guilds College Engagement with Employers Award

  • Belfast Metropolitan College
  • City of Glasgow College
  • Havering College of Further and Higher Education 
  • Weston College

Edge Award for Excellence in the Practical Delivery of Technical and Professional Learning 

  • EKC Group 
  • Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education 
  • Wiltshire College and University Centre

Effective use of Technology in Further Education Award (Jisc)

  • Bolton College 
  • Grimsby Institute of Further and Higher Education 
  • Preston's College  

RCU Support for Students Award

  • Activate Learning 
  • Barking and Dagenham College
  • National Star College 


Giving FE's finest the recognition they deserve.


Photos from the 2018 Tes FE Awards.


The winners were revealed on Friday 22 March 2019 at the Grosvenor House Hotel.


See why the Tes FE Awards are valued by the sector.


If you have an enquiry, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.


Sign up here to receive the latest news on the Tes FE Awards.